Please Help Me Find a Title. Also…a Fun Giveaway!!!

Standard

Happy Easter everyone! Hope you’re having a great weekend.

**** BE SURE TO follow the blog in order to enter our giveaway! (Button can be found on the lower left side)

Yesterday, our MC4 group took a road trip to Anadarko for a book signing. We had a great day, not only at the signing, but the drive time of nearly three hours, round trip (with a stop off in Okarche for chicken and okra at Eischens), gave us an opportunity to brainstorm the next books in the Martini Club 4 series. These books will be set in 1947 Boston and will be about the offspring of our characters from the 1920’s series. We came up with some fun ideas for all four of the stories. Spending time together like that is so beneficial.

This is the four of us at the signing:

Me, Kathy, Amanda, Krysta

at the signing4083_6233334536891863690_n

I’ll let the others share their story ideas when they’re ready, but I’ll give you a brief glimpse of my idea. Also, we brainstormed titles, and where we went with ‘R’ before, it appears we’re going with ‘P’ for this one. I believe the other girls have decided on their titles, but I’d like some feedback on a few that I’m considering.

If you don’t mind, read the brief summary of my plot below, and let me know which of the potential titles you prefer.

A very rough summary:

Nina Taggart, at the prodding of her mother, is engaged to be married to a wealthy member of Boston’s blue-blood society. Nina isn’t madly in love with him, but as her mother pointed out, he’ll make a good match for her. But, when a dark secret from her mother’s past surfaces, Nina’s fiancé is horrified. He publicly humiliates her, calling her unspeakable names.

Sylvester is a World War II hero, now police officer, in Boston. He has loved Nina since they were children and has protected her reputation all these years. When her fiancé degrades her, Sylvester flies into a rage and beats him senseless. The man’s family insists on Sylvester’s removal from the force, and his superiors comply.

Sylvester has been working a case involving the kidnapping of wealthy Bostoners for ransom. Now, he’s taken off the case and has lost his job, not to mention, Nina is furious with him for nearly killing her former fiancé. In the blink of an eye, he’s gone from war hero and protector to unemployed outcast. With or without the force, he’s determined to solve the case. And to prove to Nina that he is worthy of her love.

Titles from the other stories: Krysta Scott: Priceless, Amanda McCabe: Perilous, Kathy L Wheeler: Pampered. (of course, these may change as we go forward)

For mine, I’m considering:

Perception

Precipice

Paragon

Protected

Provoked

What are your thoughts? Any preferences? Any new ideas?

GIVEAWAY – Exclusive, Customized MC4 Martini Glass and a print copy of all four Martini Club 4 – The 1920’s stories in one volume, signed by all the authors. To enter, simply use the ‘follow’ button, found at the lower left, and follow our blog! Winner will be chosen at the end of April. (Only residents of the Unites States are eligible)

glass and book 405_114410

33 thoughts on “Please Help Me Find a Title. Also…a Fun Giveaway!!!

  1. First, if I’m wrong it certainly wouldn’t be the first or last time, but aren’t the good folks of Boston referred to as Bostonians? Just saying… 🙂 As for the titles, I like all you’ve listed and all I can think of off the top of my pointy head lean toward Sylvester (great character name, btw): Perdition, Paradox, Parallel, Pariah. If something truly dazzling occurs to me, I’ll drop back by. The new MC4 sounds like a great project. You go, girls!

    • Ha! You are absolutely correct about Bostonians. Boy, I did rush through that! 🙂 Hmmm…I like what your pointy head came up with. I really like Perdition and Paradox. Thanks! Keep them coming!

  2. Linda Trout

    I like Provoked because both characters have been provoked in one way or another. Plus, it’s strong and makes the reader want to know who was provoked and why. Maybe write the story THEN decide on the title. i.e. it may come to you as your working. Stranger things have happened. 🙂

    • I like it for those reasons, too. Oh yes, for sure. Whatever I settle on will just be a working title, and it might change by cover art time. 🙂 Ruined was originally called Wayward.

  3. Reblogged this on Author Alicia Dean and commented:

    Enter to win a customized Martini Club 4 glass and an autographed copy of all four of the Martini Club 4 – The 1920’s stories in one print book! The only thing you have to do to enter is follow the Martini Club 4 Blog – Check out this post for more details:

  4. mary boyd

    I like protector because Sylvester is going to try to protect who he can even though he got fired for trying to protect Nina ‘ s reputation and also catch a kidnapper without the police force to back him

  5. rachbrown2015

    I haven’t read any of the Martini Club series yet. After reading the summary of your plot, I definitely want to read this story to see how it unfolds. I like the title Provoked.

  6. Diane Burton

    I like Precipice. Your main characters are so close to the edge of a cliff, they could fall off. Provoked is good, too.

  7. Peggy Twigg

    I chose Persuaded in the above comment because Sylvester is going to have to persuade Nina to love him, but it’s up to Nina, right? 🙂

  8. janninegallant

    Provoked is my favorite of your choices. But (you knew there’d be a but, right?) I like Payback better. Just think of the Payback opportunities. Your tagline is ready-made. Payback’s a bitch…

    • Of course there’s a but! 🙂 Yes, Payback is a great title, and yep, the tagline writes itself. 🙂 I don’t know if it will end up really fitting my story, because he doesn’t go out for revenge, really. (Or, at least, I don’t think he does). But it’s definitely one to add to my list! I do need to think about the fact that it’s really Nina’s story. I’ll have to make sure the title fits her too. Thanks bunches!

  9. Kathryn Tozzi

    Well, honestly I have not read any of your books but once I can afford to I will. As for the name of the book, I actually like Provoked. Growing up with my very own WW2 Hero ( my daddy) I know he was fine and easy going until he was provoked then all bets were off. The WW2 Generation. (Greatest Generation) were very protective of those they held dear. I know people now are as well but something about that whole era seemed to be more family oriented then today’s generation. Just sayin. My thoughts on it anyway. Okay done babbling now….lol

    • Thank you for the feedback. I also like Provoked. My daddy was also a World War II veteran, and that describes him well too. You’re not babbling! 🙂 I enjoyed reading your comments. Follow our blog, and you can have a chance to win all the books in one volume. Here’s another place where you can win free books and a monthly Amazon gift card. It’s a great option for readers on a budget! https://www.facebook.com/groups/FictionFanaticsFeud/

  10. Seems pretty rough to me, Krysta. But, it does help getting it down in a few paragraphs. At least it’s a starting point. I look forward to it too! I see more drinking and road trips in our future (done separately, of course ;))

  11. Krysta Scott

    I love what you call a “rough” summary. It’s a good plot outline. Look forward to working on the series with you!

Leave a Reply

