The inspiration for Charli Leighton

Standard

 

I don’t know if I’ve mentioned this before but Charli Leighton’s character is loosely based on my eldest daughter. When she was in 6th grade she became passionate about cooking. I will never forget the first time I came home from work to find her fixated to the Food Network. I laughed. Why would she want to watch that? She scowled at me and let me know what an interesting shows the network had. I had no other choice but to sit with her and watch the programs. She was right. Soon we were downloading and printing our recipes.

She’s actually very good. Every Christmas she makes cookies for my office. The staff is fool of compliments about her baking. She has the knack. Even when she and I make the same recipe, hers always turns out better. I tell everyone with her cooking you can taste the love. At this she just smiles and rolls her eyes. But I have no better explanation.

Baking is a joy and way for her to relax. There I times I come home to a plate of cookies or cupcakes. The product of angry baking or stress baking. Yep, that’s a thing. She has been baking ever since her exposure to Food Network and wants to turn her talents into a career. Here are a few examples of things she has made.

Tart she made for mother’s day.

photo

Scones

photo 2

Cupcakes for wedding shower.

photo 3

I have sampled all of these. They are truly awesome.

That’s all I have for now. Thank you for reading my post.

Krysta

 

Leave a Reply

