The Gang’s All Here…

Standard

As you’ve probably heard, since we whine about it frequently, one of our MC4 members, Amanda McCabe moved to New Mexico earlier this year. We miss her a great deal, whether it’s during our weekly Friday MC4 gatherings, our weekend writing retreats, or various other get-togethers. She’s happy there, so I’m happy for her, but I don’t have to like it!

Fortunately, she is in town for a few days and we met last night at Boulevard Steakhouse in Edmond for dinner and drinking and brainstorming.(Our 501 Martini Club Lounge is a part of the steakhouse, so we didn’t stray far from our favorite hangout. We were even served by Evan, one of our favorites of the waitstaff, who Amanda tried to convince to move to New Mexico…we put the kabash on that immediately!)

imagejpeg_2_2

It was so nice to catch up with one another and to chat about what’s been happening in our lives. And, it was awesome to brainstorm about our 1940’s Martini Club 4 stories. Amanda was struggling a bit, thinking she needed to make sure her story worked in with ours. We told her the best thing to do is just to write her story as it comes to her, and we’ll make sure they all fit together in the end. We learned with our 1920’s stories that, while some of our scenes connect and overlap, not all of them need to be shown in each story. If my girl, Nina, appears in one of the scenes in Kathy’s story, unless that scene is also critical to my story, I don’t necessarily have to show it.

Most importantly, we have to make sure the time line works and that our scenes don’t contradict one another. For example, if my girl twists her ankle, Krysta can’t show a scene with her girl and my girl running a footrace. (Admittedly, that’s not likely, but you have to cover all eventualities) And let’s say Amanda shows a party scene in her book on a Friday night with my girl in attendance, I have to make sure that, on that Friday night, my girl wasn’t elsewhere, like being attacked by a vicious killer or something. 🙂

I’m looking forward to digging into our 40’s stories. I have a plot pretty much worked out, but I have a few other projects to complete before I can actually begin writing.

Collaborating is hard work, but it’s also a lot of fun. Especially when you get to collaborate with your BAFFs!

One thought on “The Gang’s All Here…

Leave a Reply

